Dallas Cowboys football cards



Hot Concert Tickets on StubHub.com!

The Dallas Cowboys Ring of Honor

The Ring of Honor was created by Tex Schramm and began on November 23, 1975, which was designated in Dallas as Bob Lilly Day. On that day, the team unveiled Lilly's name and jersey number (74) beneath the press box during half time. As the first honoree, Lilly (who had retired from the NFL in July of '75 after 14 years) donned his Cowboy uniform once more and graciously accepted the honor, along with numerous other gifts, which included a car, a gun and a hunting dog. Also present at the event were Cowboys owner Clint Murchison, president & general manager Tex Schramm, and Head Coach Tom Landry. As the first inductee, Lilly has the distinction of returning to present each new member into the RoH. Only nine players received the honor during the first three decades of the Cowboys existence, making the RoH a coveted achievement, true to the dream envisioned by Schramm. He became only the 12th person selected to the Ring of Honor; the award was given posthumously in October 2003, a few months after he died.

There are currently 17 members of the Dallas Cowboys Ring of Honor. One head coach, one executive, and 15 players. Ten of those men are also in the NFL Hall of Fame. Click on each member below for a complete biography.

The Members
Don Perkins
Bob Lilly Don Meredith  
Chuck Howley Mel Renfro Roger Staubach
Lee Roy Jordan Tom Landry Tony Dorsett
Randy White Bob Hayes Tex Schramm
Cliff Harris Rayfield Wright Troy Aikman
Michael Irvin Emmitt Smith

Contact Us: booksales@thecowboysguide.com
Copyright 2015 www.TheCowboysGuide.com